AN EARLY MEMORY ABOUT THE COLOUR RED THE FRIDAY BLOG

IMG_1472

AN EARLY MEMORY ABOUT THE COLOUR RED

Red always plays a part of our life’s with its power and energy to keep a memory alive even if it is rather a small moment in my life.

As you opened the front door into my childhood home the wonderful red carpet runner caught your eye. The red paisley patterned Turkish carpet. It went from the front door all door almost to the kitchen door at the end of the hall.

I loved it. and was fascinated by its magical intricate paisley pattern a tear-drop shaped motif with a curved upper end. The same amazing carpet was used on the Stairs going up to the bedrooms My mother had on the top of this carpet a white cotton runner, both were held in place with wooden stair rods

For the size of the three bedroom family home, there were rather a lot of people living there. Myself, mother and father, my grown-up sister and her little boy, her husband when on leave and two boarders. Yes, a great many pairs of feet. No shoes were worn inside and would you believe one had to take your slippers off to go up and down the stairs. The white cloth had to be kept clean and smooth for as long as possible. What my mother called “being house proud” I can see clearly was a problem with being obsessive about keeping the house ultra clean and tidy at all times.

If I sit quietly even now so very many years later I can see myself as a small child playing a game on those pristine looking stairs. I would try to get up or down on the very edge of the treads where you put your foot as you used the stairs. It was so much easier going up and I often got to the very top. Of course, coming down was harder, I’m sure I would have fallen many times if I hadn’t been hanging onto the bannister with all my might.

Leave a comment