THE FRIDAY BLOG PAGE

THE FRIDAY BLOG PAGE … LETS COLOUR OUR WORLD

SHADES OF BLUE FOR OCTOBER.

Living on the west coast of New Zealand’s north Island; I get to see a huge expanse of blue skies and the amazing Tasman sea nearly every day. So in my life I have shades of blue every day. It make life so relaxed most of the time.

There are so many shades of blue from the palest tint that some times gives us just a

moment of perfect peace, though to sky blue that opens us up to soft quiet moments; time to take little breaths to settle our busy minds, Sapphire blue to help find hope and keep faith in every day things; alive and well; to the deepest blue and to those amazing French blues and the navies that can be so diplomatic and effective; then those rather lovely Turquoise and kingfisher blues with their cheerful, confident outgoing qualities. We can open our hearts with the help of this colour and heal past hurts. These colours give us a chance to be more balanced as we look at issues. It is the healer of our emotions. It cools; it calms.

My daughter Serendipity send me some money to buy what ever I liked for my birthday this year. I had been into a lovely shop here in New Plymouth earlier in the year to buy fun and very cosy bed socks for gifts and had seen the delightful cotton dressing gowns; a little expensive but I really liked them. So that is what I brought myself a good few weeks ago; much to cold to ware before this week. So comfortable and and surprisingly warm. It has a busy pastern with flowers of deferent types and lovely swirls of all kind of shaped and sizes; on a lovely bright deep turquoise; almost kingfisher blue background.

My whole family are fans of the lovely kingfisher birds with their wonderful bright colours and swift movement. Kingfisher’s are often associated in many cultures around the world as being like royalty; because the birds themselves believe they are elite in the world of birds. They look so regal balancing so carefully watching the world go by; when they do move it is so swift and direct. My whole day can be made if I see one on our walks. That wonderful vibrant turquoise brings in feelings of courage; freedom to find new adventures it also helps us to be more balanced with our every day living.

Some one asked me a few weeks ago What did I miss about England? Apart from my daughter Serendipity. Very little indeed. But when I hear an old favourite song ( We’ll Gather Lilacs) I saw the Film; Lilacs in the Spring; when I was about fourteen. I loved Ivor Novello’s music. This song is so very English and A little bit of my heart gets a little home sick when ever I hear it. The other thing is photos of English Bluebell woods.

I have very fond memories of going to pick bluebell flowers with my dear father when I was a young child. It was a long walk to get to the wood and we would pick a great many. I was told just how to pick them; pulling then from the soil; after picking a good hand full you had to put the flowers over your arm with the flower heads pointing upwards so you did not crush them. It was many years later that I can remember telling my little nieces how to pick these lovely flowers when we went as a family to the Bluebell wood at Little Brickhill in Buckinghamshire.

My father and I would cut a fair bit of the stems off and put them in my mother favourite cut glass vase when we got home; I was always told to take some of the flowers up the street; just three house up where my aunty Gladys and two of my cousin lived. By the time I got back home my parents were having a cup of tea and there would a piece of cake to go with it. It is so lovely to think about those beautiful peaceful moments; in the busy lives we lead these days. Let;s try to focus on blue as we head into the weekend. Let us find

moments of being tranquil, compost and relaxed; with the delightful colour blue.

Leave a comment